Assistance Needed

http://www.guildwars.com
Sir K
marquess
marquess
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sun 10 Nov, 2002 16:11
Contact:

Assistance Needed

Postby Sir K » Fri 23 Nov, 2007 23:57

My son has just purchased the latest guildwars, but he cannot get it to work on his computer which runs vista!

Works ok on mine on XP.

Hasn't had any luck finding a solution to this, any suggestions appreciated?

:sirk:

User avatar
Chevalier Bayard
semi-god
semi-god
Posts: 27407
Joined: Tue 03 Dec, 2002 10:31
Steam ID: chevalierbayard
PSN ID: ChevalierBayard
Xbox Live ID: ChevalierBayard
Location: Winonist cyber-archbishopric
Contact:

Postby Chevalier Bayard » Sat 24 Nov, 2007 00:07

Well, if you have your XP cds, maybe the best is to get rid of Vista.

=> Giving up on Vista ?

Otherwise, what error does your son get when he tries to launch the game ?
Image

Sir K
marquess
marquess
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sun 10 Nov, 2002 16:11
Contact:

Postby Sir K » Sat 24 Nov, 2007 00:13

wish it was that easy.  Dont have XP disc as such, only pc recovery disc which has XP plus the other programmes and only works on my pc!

The game as far as I can tell, loads etc, but he cannot connect to the server.  I have allowed access via the firewall on the router for his pc but makes no difference.

User avatar
Chevalier Bayard
semi-god
semi-god
Posts: 27407
Joined: Tue 03 Dec, 2002 10:31
Steam ID: chevalierbayard
PSN ID: ChevalierBayard
Xbox Live ID: ChevalierBayard
Location: Winonist cyber-archbishopric
Contact:

Postby Chevalier Bayard » Sat 24 Nov, 2007 00:54

I don't know well Vista but maybe he has to turn off or at leat adjust some settings of the integrated firewall which blocks the game.

Have you check in the configuration panel ?

Sir K
marquess
marquess
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sun 10 Nov, 2002 16:11
Contact:

Postby Sir K » Sat 24 Nov, 2007 00:57

Chevalier Bayard wrote:I don't know well Vista but maybe he has to turn off or at leat adjust some settings of the integrated firewall which blocks the game.

Have you check in the configuration panel ?


do u mean on the router?  I gave him unrestricted access, effectively removing the firewall against his pc.  Gave him a static IP address on the router to ensure details saved.

I personally have not looked at the game or the settings.

User avatar
Chevalier Bayard
semi-god
semi-god
Posts: 27407
Joined: Tue 03 Dec, 2002 10:31
Steam ID: chevalierbayard
PSN ID: ChevalierBayard
Xbox Live ID: ChevalierBayard
Location: Winonist cyber-archbishopric
Contact:

Postby Chevalier Bayard » Sat 24 Nov, 2007 01:11

I don't think the game is involved. The router is one thing but you also have an integrated firewall in Vista which can be quite annoying trying to protect you :P

I'm working tomorrow from early morning and the week has been very "intense" so I don't have much time in front of me but if this link doesn't help, I'll try to help you on Sunday :)

Sir K
marquess
marquess
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sun 10 Nov, 2002 16:11
Contact:

Postby Sir K » Sat 24 Nov, 2007 01:26

thanks will take a look at all this.

User avatar
Chevalier Bayard
semi-god
semi-god
Posts: 27407
Joined: Tue 03 Dec, 2002 10:31
Steam ID: chevalierbayard
PSN ID: ChevalierBayard
Xbox Live ID: ChevalierBayard
Location: Winonist cyber-archbishopric
Contact:

Postby Chevalier Bayard » Thu 27 Dec, 2007 04:05

Did it solve the problem ?

Fouguet has just joined the game with Christmas and I'm gonna help him from the Ascalon area to the Prophecy's campain and Eye of the North as well when we'll have reached it. If your son is interrested to join, tell him to catch me on Xfire for example :)
Image


Return to “GuildWORs”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests